10 replies to this topic

#1 Murderklok

Murderklok

Lift Veteran

• PipPipPip
  • 590 posts
  • LocationNiagara Falls, Ontario

Posted 22 December 2015 - 11:57 AM

I just started using Gamewisp subs yesterday, however, I've been tinkering and playing with the website for about two months. Three months ago, I started to consider using it. So this decision was not made lightly. Here are the key points that my decision process went through and I figure it might help some other casters with their decision.

Am I worth subbing to?

This was a struggle for me and the biggest hurdle to get over, mentally. The way I looked at it was, "If I can't have Twitch subs, then why should I have any subs at all?" After mulling this over in my head and people beating it into my head that I'm worth it, it started to click. I've been streaming for 1 year and half. I've spent thousands between hardware, games, and missed work. If my community thinks I'm worth it, then screw whatever Twitch's standards are. Which brings me to my next point...

What if I leave Twitch?

Not that I'm planning on leaving but this is a valid outcome in the future. Something else comes along and Twitch traffic goes down. Casters move somewhere and with them, their audience. Eventually Twitch will become Myspace. This could happen and if Twitch subs in my income (or a least a major part of it) I'd be shit out of luck. However, with a third party option, like GameWisp, I can freely move to YouTube, Beam, Hitbox, whatever else comes up, and maintain the subscription model and benefits.

What can I offer to subs?